A community of working portfolios.
May 31st, 2012

Chicago Portfolio School Week – Sara Kirsten

Even though MC is a huge fan of Cargo Collective, it’s nice to see someone try something different. Sara’s site is beautiful, and changes color like the bar at XYZ in the W San Francisco. Can’t … stop … looking … pretty … colors …

Portfolio: sarakirsten.com

May 30th, 2012

Chicago Portfolio School Week – Will Sharpe

You can do things in a student book that you can’t do in real life. That’s part of the fun of making them, and part of the fun of looking at them. Looks like Will had a lot of fun making his.

Portfolio: cargocollective.com/willsharpe

May 29th, 2012

Chicago Portfolio School Week – McCamie Cole

Big-ups to McCamie Cole for helping organize this year’s Chicago Portfolio School Week on MC. Much appreciated. You know, there’s nothing better than finding the perfect line for a campaign. Once that’s nailed, everything gets easier, from executing to selling. McCamie’s got a couple of gems in his book. “A thousand pictures for every word” for Flickr, and “Get out what you put into it” for Public Storage.

Portfolio: cargocollective.com/mccamiecole

May 24th, 2012

Will Bright

Will is a copywriter/CD at Kirshenbaum in New York. So much killer work in his book, including a ton of stuff for BMW. His site is Cargo, and is broken out into six categories: Latest Work, Branded Content, Web, TV, Print/OOH, and Case Studies. Interesting, because you can view the work by media (old school) or by case study/campaign (new school) or just check out the latest. All in six links. Very cool.

Portfolio: bloodsweatideas.com

May 22nd, 2012

Jeff Scardino

Jeff is a copywriter at McGarry Bowen in NYC. As part of his work for State Farm, he writes Facebook posts for Alfonso Ribeiro (from The Fresh Prince of Bel-Air). That’s fun. But who would be the ultimate person to write as/for on FB? MC’s pick: Burt Reynolds.

Portfolio: jeffreyscardino.com

May 17th, 2012

Elena Romeu

Elena is a copywriter at Mullen in Boston. Before that, she was a receptionist at Mullen in Boston. From her site: “I started in this business answering phones, now it’s my turn to talk.” Gotta like that. Props to Todd Bradley for sending MC her link.

Portfolio: elenaromeu.com

May 15th, 2012

Scott Spooner

Scott is a copywriter at Commerce House in Dallas. He’s one year of school (U of North Texas) and already has the beginnings of a kick-ass portfolio. Check out his brand book for Deep Ellum Brewing Company. The kid ain’t afraid to write. MC likes that.

Portfolio: scottspooner.com

May 11th, 2012

Scott Johnson

Scott is a senior copywriter at VITRO in San Diego. Know what makes MC happy? Flipping through a portfolio and seeing killer writing all over the place. Long copy writing. Pages and pages of it. Because that means someone was doing some writing, and selling some writing, and buying some writing, and producing some writing. Which makes MC happy. And that’s a good way to start a Friday.

Portfolio: scojomojo.com

May 9th, 2012

ACD/CW Wanted: Hub Strategy

Our friends at Hub Strategy in San Francisco are looking for an ACD/writer with a funny bone. (Note from MC: This is an AWESOME position at a FUN shop.) From Hub: “We work a lot with humor—there’s a thread of it in almost every thing we do. From subtle/wry to sharp/clever to funny/wacky; serious experience with humor and comedy is absolutely essential. If comedy/humor is not your thing (and we mean really your thing), please don’t consider this opportunity.” Interested? Should be. To check out Hub’s site/work, click on the link below. To contact/apply, shoot Cory an email at the address below.

Site: hubstrategy.com

Contact/Email: cory@hubstrategy.com

May 7th, 2012

Ryan Durr

Ryan is a copywriter at Pereira & O’Dell in San Francisco. MC is straight-up jealous of his client list. Skittles, Nike, LEGO, Corona, Juicy Fruit (which has gone a little Skittles), Camelbak, Kiehl’s, wow. Love the work, too. Like Sarah Silverman making out with the Serenading Unicorn (above). Disgusting. And so beautiful.

Portfolio: durrtywords.com

May 4th, 2012

VCU Brandcenter Week 2012 – CW Grads

Ladies and gentlemen, MC is honored to present the portfolio sites of the 2012 VCU Brandcenter graduating copywriters (in alphabetical order):

Daniel Aguinaga: danielaguinaga.com

David Ashton: davidjashton.com

Christopher Brotzman: chrisbrotzman.com

Phil Clockers: phil.clockers.org

Lonnie Elliott: lonnieelliott.com

Matt Garcia: cargocollective.com/rmattgarcia

Craig Gerringer: cargocollective.com/cgerringer

Bri Hand: secrethidingplaceofbrihand.com

Bryce Isaacson: bryceisaacson.com

Alina Karabaich: karabaich.com

Patrick Kraft: patrickkraft.com

Alex Ledford: alexledford.com

Yahkeema Moffitt: yahkeema.com

Mariana Oliveira: heymar.com

Nick Park: cargocollective.com/nickpark

Brandon Poole: bpoole.com

Johnathan Ranson: iamjonransom.com

Whitney Ruef: whitneyruef.com

David Satterfield: david-satterfield.com

Ben Schneider: schneiderben.com

Chris Sheldon: crsheldon.com

Scott Thomasch: cargocollective.com/LostBoy

Jeff Vitkun: jeffvitkun.com

Tedd Wood: teddwood.org

May 3rd, 2012

VCU Brandcenter Week 2012 – Whitney Ruef

What do CDs and recruiters look for in a graduating CW’s portfolio? Well, for starters, work that looks like someone had fun making it. Whitney’s definitely falls into that category. In addition to ads, she’s got Greeting Cards for Cardless Occasions, Depressed Copywriter submissions, and Horsewarming—a relaunch of Digital Kitchen. Awesome.

Portfolio: whitneyruef.com

May 2nd, 2012

VCU Brandcenter Week 2012 – Craig Gerringer

MC is a fan of funny. If you can write funny and smart, there’s at least a 51% chance you’ll make it as a copywriter. Craig can write it funny. Check out his Jack Handy-esque campaign for Bigelow Tea (above). And there are good times all up and down his site. Including a Movember vid. Which is just. I mean.

Portfolio: http://cargocollective.com/cgerringer

May 1st, 2012

VCU Brandcenter Week 2012 – Lonnie Elliott

There are copywriters. And there are writer/copywriters. Lonnie is the latter. His ‘Preamble’ taken directly from his site: “Fact: Dyson vacuums use the same plastic as riot shields. I’ve never understood writers who work best by distancing themselves from the details of a product. For me, the opposite is true. Knowledge fuels my creative thinking. Working on a problem is like a game of chess. It only takes a few pieces to checkmate the king, but I never know which ones until I start playing. The Dyson fact above remains my favorite crumb of information found while researching a campaign. It was later abandoned, like many others, for lacking the relevancy to become an ad. Such is the process. And for many reasons, why I love it.”

Portfolio: lonnieelliott.com

This work is licensed under GPL - 2009 | Powered by Wordpress using the theme aav1