A community of working portfolios.
May 29th, 2015

U of Texas at Austin Week 2015 – CW Grads

texas-longhorn2

Ladies and gentlemen, MC is honored to present the portfolio sites of 13 2015 University of Texas at Austin graduating copywriters (in alphabetical order):

Mary Adams Bode – maryadamsbode.com

Warner Boin – warnerboin.com

Hayden Butler – haydenroybutler.com

Allison Burzlaff – allisonburzlaff.com

Jason Cahill – jxlc.co

Rachel Dawer – racheldawer.com

Colleen Hoofard – colleenhoofard.com

Lauren Lakin – laurenlakin.com

Cynthia Osborn – cargocollective.com/osborncynthia

Kait Pennybacker – kaitpennybacker.com

Lacey Rouse – laceyrouse.com

Hannah Sanderson – hannahsanderson.com

Lulu Wimberly – luluwimberly.com

May 28th, 2015

U of Texas at Austin Week 2015 – Hannah Sanderson

shred

Lots of smart work in Hannah’s portfolio, including projects for Swingline Paper Shredders (above), Dramamine Kids, Lumen, Fix-A-Flat, and Merry Maids. Who hasn’t needed an anonymous Merry Maids postcard for a friend with an especially disgusting bathroom? The world needs this campaign.

Portfolio: hannahsanderson.com

May 27th, 2015

U of Texas at Austin Week 2015 – Hayden Butler

RoachObits

Campaigns for pest control aren’t uncommon in student portfolios, but to MC’s knowledge Hayden’s for Combat is the first to feature a full newspaper obituary page of roaches. So fun to write, geez. He’s also got cool projects for Monoprice, Jambox, Happy Socks, and Black Rock Charters. Good stuff.

Portfolio: haydenroybutler.com

May 26th, 2015

U of Texas at Austin Week 2015 – Lulu Wimberly

texashat2

So much funniness in Lulu’s portfolio. Don’t miss her guinea pig campaign for Paul Mitchell The School (nice Photoshop work), Winnebago (so retro), and Lucchese (so Texas). And hats off to the spinning toilet landing page. Genius.

Portfolio: luluwimberly.com

May 25th, 2015

U of Texas at Austin Week 2014 – Rachel Dawer

viking3

Texas at Austin Week on MC kicks off with Rachel Dawer, who was kind enough to coordinate with MC and help make this week happen. (No surprise she made Dean’s List!) Don’t miss her campaign for SportClips (above), which is the most perfect campaign for SportsClips ever. Dig it.

Portfolio: racheldawer.com

May 19th, 2015

Rick Abbott

mms

Rick is a freelance writer/CD in Miami. Since his last post on MC five years ago (03.19.10, how has it been that long?), he’s been very, very busy. M&M’s, Coke, Jet Blue, AT&T, Macy’s, Smirnoff, Acura, etc., for agencies like Crispin, RPA, Sapient, JWT, and BBDO. This is a good one.

Portfolio: rickabb.com

May 15th, 2015

CW Wanted: New Honor Society, St. Louis

NHS_script

Beth Voegtli at New Honor Society in St. Louis is on the hunt for a copywriter. From Beth: “Some brands are better at knowing their consumers than knowing themselves. We want to change that. When you find your brand’s calling, and live it every day, you attract a following of likeminded people, and the brand becomes the target. It’s not just about promises, persuasions and incentives. It’s about meaningful ties between brands that have a purpose, and the people who want in. We call it Less Sell, More Soul.” How cool is that?

Learn more or to apply: Click here

May 12th, 2015

Matt Bogen

Zevia

Matt is a freelance writer/CD in Los Angeles. His site features 18 projects covering a huge range of media—with nice tight strategic setups that get you into the how and why of each in just a sentence or two. Been in the biz a few years and still kicking ass? Got a lot to show? This is how we do it.

Portfolio: mattdbogen.com

May 11th, 2015

Ben Wyeth

gortons

Ben is a recent Ph.D grad in Advertising from the University of Texas at Austin, and will be starting at The Richards Group in June. (Big congrats!) MC could be wrong, but is this the first Doctor of Advertising on the site? More importantly, what does he do if someone yells “Is there a doctor in the house?” Um. Technically, yes. But unless you’re metaphorically choking on a 15-second Hulu pre-roll video … which happens ALL THE TIME … then um …

Portfolio: benwyeth.com

May 7th, 2015

CW Wanted: Octagon

OctagonHockeyLogo2

Alyssa Adelson, Talent Acquisition Director at Octagon in Connecticut, is on the hunt for a copywriter/ experiential creative. From Alyssa: “Hi there. We‘re Octagon. We’re the sports, entertainment, and lifestyle marketing arm of the Interpublic Group. We connect brands to fans through passion.

We are looking for a writer with an eye towards developing experiential ideas to join our team. In this role you will be responsible for generating smart, breakthrough ideas for existing and potential Octagon clients. You will work as a key member of Octagon’s Planning, Concept and Design team (PCD), straddling the line between planning and concepting.

 WHO WE’RE LOOKING FOR:

  • You’re a solid mid-level creative working at an experiential agency, digital shop, promotional shop, or even a traditional ad agency – but you’re interested in more than just traditional creative work.
  • You are a wordsmith who can craft pithy insights, strategies, and concept descriptions.
  • You appreciate creative that doesn’t exclusively live in the world of advertising communication, but also in the physical or digital space.
  • You understand (and may even come from) the world of planning and value insights, strategies and creative briefs as the foundation of great ideas.
  • You’re the one on your team who always puts ideas on the table to be discussed, edited, and built upon.
  • You love to make beautiful presentations and can visually express your creativity. It’s one of many techniques you use to sell in your ideas and strategies.
  • You have experience working on several clients and brands simultaneously. You are interested in working on major global brands.
  • You know how to contribute to a winning new business pitch and are hungry for opportunities to develop and pitch ideas to potential clients.
  • You’re ready to move on to a more senior role and embrace the new responsibilities and opportunities that come with it.

THE WORK YOU’LL DO:

  • Generate original, bold, and on-strategy creative ideas for Octagon clients and new business opportunities.
  • Write-up ideas in whitepaper format and sharp presentations, working with design team and outside freelancers to develop accompanying visuals.
  • Contribute to copy efforts including campaign names, taglines, manifestos, headlines, and body copy across all marketing channels and media types.
  • Support agency’s creative development process by leading live brainstorm sessions and client workshops.
  • Lead the development of creative sell-in presentations.
  • Represent the agency as a creative voice in live presentations.
  • Collaborate with strategic and creative resources across Octagon global network (offices and sister agencies).

To learn more and apply, email Alyssa at: alyssa.adelson@octagon.com

May 5th, 2015

Senior CW Wanted: Bright Red\TBWA, Florida

brightred

Rob Kerr, Executive Creative Director of Bright Red\TBWA in Tallahassee, Florida is on the hunt for a senior copywriter. From Rob: “Crazy busy, collaborative, award-winning creative shop in North Florida seeking Sr. writers (no ACD or CD level talent, please). Do you believe big ideas can come from anywhere? We do. We expect them from you, consistently. You’ll be thrown into the fire day one and have the opportunity to work on a diverse range of clients from travel & tourism, consumer packaged goods, durable products to fast-food. This is not for the faint-of-heart — you will be juggling multiple assignments, often with tight deadlines and will be expected to win awards. Sound like you? Don’t apply if you have your heart set on working in New York. Tallahassee couldn’t be further from Madison Avenue. Thankfully.”

Email Rob at: rkerr@brightredtbwa.com

May 4th, 2015

Reid Hultman

snowglobe

Reid is a senior copywriter moving to NYC from Minneapolis in June. (Congrats!) Leave it to someone from Minnesota to come up with the idea of asking a guy to live in a snow globe as the agency holiday stunt (above, for McKinney). Too perfect.

Portfolio: reidhultman.com

May 1st, 2015

VCU Brandcenter Week 2015

brandcenter

For everyone not able to attend VCU’s recruiter sessions this week, MC is honored to present the portfolio sites of 24 VCU Brandcenter copywriters graduating May 9th, 2015 (in alphabetical order):

Sue Attalah – sueattalah.com

Richard Beahm – richardbeahm.com

Curt Chapkowski – curtchapkowski.com

Andrew Couch – johnandrewcouch.com

Elizabeth Daniel – elizabethdaniel.info

Emma Dou – emmadou.com

Patrick Farrell – patrickbfarrell.com

James Feess – jamesfeess.com

Nick Gelbard – nickgelbard.com

Patrick Girts – patrickgirts.com

Joe Hartley – joehartley.pizza

Andy Holdeman – andymightsave.us

Sarah Johnston – sarahejohnston.com

Melanie Matlock – melaniematlock.com

Conor McCann – conordrummmccann.com

Mike McGuire – michaelkmcguire.com

Alison Murphy – amurph.com

Ryan Niland – ryanniland.com

Dorado Quick – doradoquickwrites.com

Nick Roberston – bnrobertson.com

Neeruj Sethi – neerujsethi.com

Ryan Snyder – rysny.com

Jesse Stanton – jessestanton.com

Madeleine Trebenski – madeleinetrebenski.com

This work is licensed under GPL - 2009 | Powered by Wordpress using the theme aav1