A community of working portfolios.
September 30th, 2016

Copywriters Wanted: McCann Detroit

mwg_black_vert_small1

Danielle McGuckin and Ann Perry at McCann Detroit are on the hunt for unicorns. Copywriter unicorns! From McCann: “McCann Worldgroup Detroit is looking for copywriters to work on world-class accounts such as Chevrolet, Michigan Tourism, ALDI and more. We need writers. Excellent ones. Writers who put together a headline that makes other writers jealous. Writers who write copy novelists want to plagiarize. And if you’re only doing it for print or TV then don’t bother submitting your portfolio over here – we need people who can work in every channel. So, yeah, great writers. Every channel. And you have to be cool to work with. In other words, we might be looking for a unicorn.”

Are you that unicorn? Then apply to careers@mwgdetroit.com

September 29th, 2016

Dominique Curtis

guys2

Dominique is a copywriter at Sanders\Wingo in Austin, Texas. Every once in a while, you see a scene in a spot in a fellow copywriter’s portfolio and think to yourself, “He/she wrote that so that he/she could be on-set for that scene.” The above for Dominique’s AT&T spot featuring Jenifer Lewis qualifies. Dig it.

Portfolio: dominiquecreates.com

September 28th, 2016

Tom Gorton

50plus

Tom is a Creative Strategist/Director/Designer in San Francisco. He might have just set a new record on MC with over 50 projects featured on his site for clients like Leinenkugel’s, McDonalds, Kellogg’s, Optima Batteries, Kalahari, and Henry Weinhard’s. So much good stuff.

Portfolio: tomgorton.me

September 26th, 2016

Matt Elhardt

cnet

Matt is a freelance writer/CD based in Malibu, California. Holy smokes has he worked everywhere good: Apple, Wieden+Kennedy, Fallon, 180la, Leagas Delaney, Goodby Silverstein & Partners, Media Arts Lab and Crispin Porter + Bogusky. At those shops, he’s done killer work for Apple, Nike, Netflix, Subaru, adidas, HP, Coke and CNET—including the classic spot above. So awkward. So genius. One of MC’s all-time faves.

Portfolio: mattelhardt.com

September 24th, 2016

Creative Circus Fall 2016 CW & AD Grads

2010-Circus-Logo-

Ladies and gentlemen, MC is honored to present the portfolio sites of September 2016 Creative Circus graduates (in alphabetical order). NOTE: If you’re a Circus grad and would like to be added to this post, just shoot an email with your link to jason@moderncopywriter.com.

Adil Hussain (writer) – adilwritescopy.com

Amy Lazo (writer) – amylazo.com

Andrew Wernette (writer) – AWtheCW.com

Anh Nguyen (writer) – anhsbrightideas.com

Anna Crane (writer) – annacrane.co

Ashlyn Bell (writer) – ashlynmariebell.com

Audrey Saunders (art director) – audreysaunders.com

Chris Davis (writer) – christophdav.com

Corey O’Brien (writer) – itscoreyo.com

Courtney Hoenicke (writer) – illtakeanumberten.com

Dwight Williams (art director) – dwightwilliamsjr.com

Emily Bress (writer) – emilybress.com

Evan Easley (writer) – evaneasley.com

Grace Martin (art director) – gracemar10.com

Hannah Heller – (copywriter) – thecurlyh.com

Jane Stephens (art director) – janespelledjane.com/janestephens

Jared Fernandes (writer) – FernandesWithAnS.com

Jared Owenby (writer) – jaredonb.com

Jessica Kesner (art director) – jessicakesner.com

Katie D’Agostine (writer) – schmadvertising.com

Kelsey Heard (art director) – kelseyheard.com

Keri Speer (art director) – kerispeercreative.com

Kory Brocious (art director) – korybrocious.com

Lacie Johnson (art director) – lacieraejohnson.com

Makeda Loney (copywriter) – makedaloney.com

Mary Gilmore (art director) – marygilmoread.com

Nick Rog (art director) – nickrog.com

Reagan Fromm (art director) – reaganmfromm.com

Regina Strong (writer) –  regina-strong.com

Sam Johnson (art director) – samjohnsondotcomwastaken.com

Sammi Chancey (writer) – sammichancey.com

Tyler Emmons (art director) – tyleremmons.com

September 22nd, 2016

Andrei Chahine

miley-sprinkles_wildposting_melrose_stanley-final

Andrei is a copywriter/VP, Brand Creative Director at MTV in NYC, which sounds like the coolest job ever. Since his last post on MC back on 03.02.12, Andrei moved to New York, worked at Anomaly and Grey, and now leads MTV’s in-house creative department. He’s also added all kinds of new work to his portfolio, including MTV VMA campaigns (for which he’s won a bunch of Cannes Lions). Time for an update!

Portfolio: andreichahine.com

September 20th, 2016

Newton Cox

vwbeth

Newton is a copywriter at Deutsch in Los Angeles. Before ads, he was a TV writer—including a stint with Jimmy Kimmel. Don’t miss his “Re-Voiced” calls (on his Jimmy Kimmel page). So funny.

Portfolio: cargocollective.com/newtcox

September 19th, 2016

Ryan Durr

icet

Ryan is a freelance copywriter/ACD in Richmond, VA (and ready to travel). Since his last post on MC, way back on 05.07.12, he moved from Pereira & O’Dell to Innocean to Martin to freelance—and added a bunch of killer work to his portfolio along the way. Like selling lemonade with Ice-T for Geico (above). Definitely time for an update.

Portfolio: durrtywords.com

September 17th, 2016

Chicago Portfolio School CW Grads Weekend

cps-1

Bonus CPS weekend post! Last May, Chicago Portfolio School graduated six new copywriters (big ups to Kristen Manias for sending them in). Excited to have them up on MC now.

Kristen Manias – kristenmanias.com

Kurt Monette – kurtmonette.com

Isaac Glover – isaacglover.com

Rae Faiman – raefaiman.com

Jessi Pelzel – jessipelzel.com

Mitch Reeter – mitchreeter.com

September 15th, 2016

Miami Ad School CW Grads Week: Fall 2016

gallery

Ladies and gentlemen, MC is honored to present the portfolio sites of 13 Miami Ad School copywriter graduates (in alphabetical order):

Alejandra Cid – alejandracid.net

Chanae Reed – chanaereed.com

Charlotte Bent – charlottebent.com

Chris Lou – chrislou.co

Greg Ward – gregwardcreative.com

Jared Powell – jaredthomaspowell.com

Kim Truong – kimtruong.work

Michael Fleming – michaelfleming.work

Rachel Landau – rachelroselandau.com

Stephanie Huber – stephanie-huber.squarespace.com

Tanvi Tandon – tanvitandon.com

Tino Gonzalez-Kakouris – tinogk.com

Wael Khairy – waelkhairy.com

September 14th, 2016

Miami Ad School CW Grads Week: Wael Khairy

pepsi

Wael is a copywriter/filmmaker who graduated from Miami Ad School last week—though he does have quite a bit of CW and film experience pre-MAS. You can see that experience represented in his portfolio, especially in case studies he’s put together for his projects. Throughout this graduating MAS class, it’s very cool to see how students are putting their personal experience, skills and interests into how they present their work. Dig it.

Portfolio: waelkhairy.com

September 13th, 2016

Miami Ad School CW Grads Week: Tanvi Tandon

hashtag

Tanvi is a new copywriter (or bust) in NYC after graduating from MAS last week. During her internship at 360i in NYC, she helped put together the above project to pitch Bose for the Super Bowl: “We turned tweets with #LetsHearIt into all possible genres of music, which you can view on this Tumblr page.” 360i even pitched it to Bose on Tanvi’s birthday. Now that’s a good internship!

Portfolio: tanvitandon.com

September 12th, 2016

Miami Ad School CW Grads Week: Charlotte Bent

tylenol

Charlotte is a new copywriter in NYC after graduating from MAS last Friday. (Big ups!) So much to like on her site, from her projects for Tylenol (above), Gilt, Champion, and Lego, to her About Charlotte Bent music video mash-up. She’s also included a bit of stand-up (on page LOL), proving once again MC’s theory that copywriters are really just comedians who don’t want to be broke. Dig it.

Portfolio: charlottebent.com

September 8th, 2016

Kayla Ducklo

barneysprintboy

Kayla is a junior art director at mcgarrybowen in Chicago (graduated from Chicago Portfolio School in 2015). One of MC’s favorite things is being able to look at a portfolio soon after someone lands at their first shop—and see what it really takes to get a job at an agency like mcgarrybowen. Very cool.

Portfolio: kayladucklo.com

September 7th, 2016

Josh Weiss

jump

Josh is an art director at Saatchi in Los Angeles. Tons of projects for Toyota on his site, including a series of influencer videos for 4Runner. Don’t miss “The Last Jump” by Chris McNamara (above), which shows what can happen when base jumping doesn’t go as planned. (Gulp.) Cool use of YouTube’s annotation feature for this project.

Portfolio: joshdweiss.com

September 6th, 2016

Rob Gregory

bball

Rob is an art director (JWT, Leo Burnett, Creative Circus) turned photographer who now shoots full time. You can see the AD influence in his photography—including his projects Childhood Cancer Superheroes, 2016 Wheelchair Softball World Series, and RIC Hornets Wheelchair Basketball (above). Very cool.

Portfolio: robgregoryphotography.com

September 5th, 2016

Aisha Hakim

25915

Aisha is an art director at Venables Bell & Partners in San Francisco. She’s got a great mix of projects for Reebok on her site, including 25,915 Days (the average number most of us live), above. Also, don’t miss her Mercury Awards-winning radio for VOCALiD. Love that the first art director on MC this week has won a Mercury. Dig it.

Portfolio: aishamadeit.com

This work is licensed under GPL - 2009 | Powered by Wordpress using the theme aav1