A community of working portfolios.
April 26th, 2017

VCU Brandcenter Week – Alex McClelland

GIF_scissor

Alex is a brand new art director (see that, ADs—MC is there for you, too) fresh out of VCU. When you hire a new creative, one of the first things you tell ’em is some version of: “Scare me. Don’t hold back. I can always reel you back in—but out of the gate, just go for it.” Ok, so Alex’s Peeps project is just flat-out scary. So is her creepy eyeball homepage. And her Gollum Girl illustrations. Yes, yes, and yes.

Portfolio: alexgmcclelland.com

 

 

April 11th, 2017

Creative Circus Week – Art Director Grads

2010-Circus-Logo-

March 2017 Creative Circus Week on MC continues, today with the portfolio sites of four art director grads. Can’t wait to see where they land!

Stacie Larsen (art director) – stacielarsen.com

Kayleigh O-Brien (art director) – kayleigh-obrien.com

Skylar Williams (art director) – skylarawilliams.com

Alex Yancy (art director) – alexyancy.com

April 10th, 2017

Creative Circus Week – Designer Grads

2010-Circus-Logo-

Ladies and gentlemen, this week MC is honored to present the portfolio sites of March 2017 Creative Circus grads: two designers (Monday), four art directors (Tuesday), and four copywriters (Wednesday). Congrats, Circusers!

Mills Adams (designer) – millsadams.com

Taylor Battle (designer) – tayllorbattle.com

April 4th, 2017

Chicago Portfolio School Week – Art Director Grads

cps1

Winter 2017 Chicago Portfolio School Week on MC continues, today with the portfolio sites of six March art director grads. Get ’em while they’re hot!

Alexandra Courtney (art director) – alexandracourtney.com

Allie Schiesser (art director) – allieschiesser.com

Deirdre Nieto (art director) – deirdrenieto.com

Ellen Kingbury (art director) – lnkingsbury.com

Maximilien Delvigne (art director) – maximiliendelvigne.com

Renato Oliveria (art director) – renatololiveira.com

April 3rd, 2017

Chicago Portfolio School Week – Designer Grads

cps5

Ladies and gentlemen, this week MC is honored to present the portfolio sites of Winter 2017 Chicago Portfolio School grads: designers (Monday), art directors (Tuesday), and copywriters (Wednesday). Congrats to all!

Adeline Chong (designer) – addieadeline.squarespace.com

Max Linenberger (designer) – mlinenberger.com

Zachary Kaplan (designer) – zkaplan.com

March 20th, 2017

Jon Arnold

Mars

Jon is VP/CD/AD at BOHAN in Nashville. Since his last post on MC (09.17.14), he’s got all kinds of cool new work up on his site: Coolville. As a writer, one of the first things MC looks at in designer portfolios is typography. Don’t miss Jon’s typography page in the design section of his site (awesome). But there’s great type all over his site, including in his Mars One project (above, featured under art direction). Take me, please.

Portfolio: thecoolville.squarespace.com

March 6th, 2017

Brian Powers

bumble

Brian is an art director/designer/CD in San Francisco, previously at start-up Madison Reed in SF and DigitasLBi Chicago, Ogilvy Chicago, and Doner Detroit before that. He’s got a beautiful Squarespace site that shows off six brands/projects for Madison Reed, Bumble & Bumble, Dove, Interface, Jim Beam, and BP Stations. Dig it.

Portfolio: pwrs.me

 

February 20th, 2017

Wanted: Creative Director (Design), NatureBox, CA

nblogo

Kenny Kim, VP of Marketing at NatureBox in Northern California (and good friend of MC), is on the hunt for a creative director/designer/art director to help them dominate the delicious snacking universe. From NatureBox: “We’re looking for a Creative Director to oversee our internal creative team, external creative agencies, freelancers, and the entire creative process at NatureBox. We need a leader, a mentor, and overall creative genius. Working with the VP of Marketing, this person will play a key role in the evolution of the NatureBox brand, guide our internal creative team to greatness, and direct compelling and memorable design campaigns that solve our business- as well as our creative-goals. S/he will be a proven people leader with expertise in all aspects of graphic and interactive design. The Creative Director oversees creative needs for the Acquisition, Product, Retail, Engineering and Customer Service teams across all marketing channels including, but not limited to, the website, packaging, in-store collateral, advertising, social media, print, and content.

Duties & Responsibilities

  • Partner with the VP of Marketing to drive the overall creative direction for the NatureBox brand.
  • Lead creation of all online, offline, and retail marketing efforts (e.g. packaging, digital advertising and social media, print advertising, video, content etc).
  • Manage, and mentor the internal creative team.
  • Serve as a strong, collaborative partner to our external agency partners and freelancer network, managing process, work, budgets and personnel.
  • Collaborate closely with VP of Marketing, Product and Engineering on design elements of the member experience (e.g. website, iPhone app, etc).
  • Set product and brand photography direction and provide creative direction on all internal and external photoshoots (both still and video).
  • Help ensure consistency across all creative executions.
  • Direct the creative function ensuring that the team, culture, capabilities, tools and processes support NatureBox’s strategic objectives and brand.
  • Establish scalable creative development and review process, to ensure that the creative team operates in a highly efficient manner while maintaining the highest quality standards.
  • Manage the evolution of the team’s technology needs, developing streamlined systems to manage workflow and leveraging external tools when necessary.
  • Drive continual improvement in NatureBox’s creative quality, thinking and capabilities.
  • Champion innovation by introducing new ideas and stimulation to the team.
  • Develop strong relationships within Marketing and across the organization.
  • Estimate, flight and manage annual design and photography budget.

Requirements & Qualifications

  • Bachelors of Graphic Design or Fine Arts; additional business degree preferred.
  • Minimum 2+ years of managerial experience in a design or art department, 3-4 years of relevant consumer brand experience preferred.
  • Exceptional aesthetic sense and intuitive understanding of design principles.
  • Ability to develop strong relationships and work with senior level executives.
  • Strong business acumen with the ability to link creative to revenue-driving behavior.
  • Significant experience art directing photo and video shoots.
  • Project management experience in a design environment.
  • Exposure to design team tools like web request system, project archival systems, etc.
  • Strong communication/organizational/presentation skills are a must.
  • Proven ability to work with cross-functional teams. Ability to respond quickly to multiple projects and superb time management skills.
  • Advanced skills in Adobe Illustrator, Photoshop, InDesign as well as basic office and organizational software.
  • Experience in food a plus

To learn more or to apply, click here: linkedin.com/jobs/view/239178125

January 19th, 2017

Matt Johanning

hugger

Matt is an art director/creative director in Madison, WI, on the hunt for his next gig. All kinds of smart, beautiful campaigns on his site, including “You deserve a decent sandwich” for Milio’s (above). Dig it.

Portfolio: mattjohanning.com

January 10th, 2017

Creative Circus Week – Art Director Grads

2010-Circus-Logo-

December 2016 Creative Circus Week on MC continues, today with the portfolio sites of eight art director grads. Can’t wait to see where they’re gonna land!

Lauren Adams (art director) – laurenbrookeadams.com

Michelle Bird (art director) – michellelouisebird.com

Leslie Graham (art director) – leslyegraham.com

Sally Mills (art director) – stuffbysally.com

Chidalu Montanya (art director) – chidalu.com

Derek Smith (art director) – derekcsmith.com

Shannon Steger (art director) – shannonsteger.com

John Wood (art director) – johnleowood.com

January 9th, 2017

Creative Circus Week – Designer Grads

2010-Circus-Logo-

Ladies and gentlemen, this week MC is honored to present the portfolio sites of December 2016 Creative Circus grads: designers (Monday), art directors (Tuesday), and copywriters (Wednesday). Congrats to all!

Patrick Bone (designer) – patrickbonedesign.com

Catherine Buchanan (designer) – catbuchanan.com

Deanna Clark (designer) – deannaclark.com

Ana De Olano (designer) – anadeolano.com

Katherine Law (designer) – katherinelaw.com

Adam Vettraino (designer) – adamvettraino.com

Mary Claire White (designer) – mcforshort.com

January 6th, 2017

Candice Schlax

talkspace

Candice is a new art director in Chicago after recently graduating from Chicago Portfolio School. Don’t miss her projects for the Talkspace app (above, online access to therapists) and Kotex “Congrats, you’re not pregnant!” greeting cards. Such a funny idea. How are those not a thing yet?

Portfolio: candiceschlax.com

November 21st, 2016

Derek Edwards

derek

Derek is an art director/designer/creative director in San Francisco. (MC met Derek in SF two weeks ago, good peeps!) Great mix of art direction and design on his site, include a bunch of projects for Macy’s. Don’t miss his photo art direction page, some really beautiful work (including the photo above, MC wants to live there). Dig it.

Portfolio: derekcreates.com

November 15th, 2016

Chicago Portfolio School Week – Art Director Grads

cps1

Fall 2016 Chicago Portfolio School Week on MC continues, today with the portfolio sites of seven September art director grads. Get ’em while they’re hot!

Allie Hunt (art director) – alliehuntad.com

Chris Kilmer-Lipinski (art director) – chriskilmerlipinski.com

Danny O’Donnell (art director) – danny-odonnell.com

Madeline Reusch (art director) – maddiereusch.com

Candice Schlax (art director) – candiceschlax.com

Jake Starr (art director) – jake-starr.com

James Stolbom (art director) – jamesstolbom.com

November 14th, 2016

Chicago Portfolio School Week – Designer Grads

cps5

Ladies and gentlemen, this week MC is honored to present the portfolio sites of September 2016 Chicago Portfolio School grads: designers (Monday), art directors (Tuesday), and copywriters (Wednesday). Congrats to all!

Elise McIntyre (designer) – elisemcintyre.com

Jen Mulvihill (designer) – jenmulvihill.com

Raina Shannon (designer) – rainashannon.com

Vicki Wrobel (designer) – vickiwrobel.com

October 5th, 2016

Allison Bhatta

jchugs

Allison is a senior art director at Barkley in Kansas City, MO. (Her site was submitted by Will Benham, senior copywriter, big ups!) Allison’s Gift of Giving video for JCPenny (above) proves once and for all that giving is at least as good as getting. Nice. Also, don’t miss her Handmade and Invitations & Design pages. The girl likes to make stuff. Dig it.

Portfolio: allisonbhatta.com

October 3rd, 2016

Creative Circus Fall 2016 Designer Grads

2010-Circus-Logo-

On Saturday 9/24, MC posted September 2016 graduating Circus writers and art directors. Today, we’ve got the designers (shout out to Kristin Martin, Director of Creative Services at Circus). Congrats to all of the recent grads!

Lina Bahri – linabahri.com

Brandi Dewberry – brandidewberry.com

Rachel Burt – rachel-burt.com

Kate Lewkowicz – katelewkowicz.com

Olivia McWhirter – oliviamdesign.com

Stephanie Morgan – stephaniehelenmorgan.com

Andy Myrick – philip-myrick.squarespace.com

Caitlin Parent – caitlinparent.com

Amberlynn Pope – hiamberlynn.com

Robyn Steadham – rlsteadham.com

Manya Swick – manyaswick.com

Allyson Tachiki – allysontachiki.com

Mary Claire White – mcforshort.com

September 28th, 2016

Tom Gorton

50plus

Tom is a Creative Strategist/Director/Designer in San Francisco. He might have just set a new record on MC with over 50 projects featured on his site for clients like Leinenkugel’s, McDonalds, Kellogg’s, Optima Batteries, Kalahari, and Henry Weinhard’s. So much good stuff.

Portfolio: tomgorton.me

September 24th, 2016

Creative Circus Fall 2016 CW & AD Grads

2010-Circus-Logo-

Ladies and gentlemen, MC is honored to present the portfolio sites of September 2016 Creative Circus graduates (in alphabetical order). NOTE: If you’re a Circus grad and would like to be added to this post, just shoot an email with your link to jason@moderncopywriter.com.

Adil Hussain (writer) – adilwritescopy.com

Amy Lazo (writer) – amylazo.com

Andrew Wernette (writer) – AWtheCW.com

Anh Nguyen (writer) – anhsbrightideas.com

Anna Crane (writer) – annacrane.co

Ashlyn Bell (writer) – ashlynmariebell.com

Audrey Saunders (art director) – audreysaunders.com

Chris Davis (writer) – christophdav.com

Corey O’Brien (writer) – itscoreyo.com

Courtney Hoenicke (writer) – illtakeanumberten.com

Dwight Williams (art director) – dwightwilliamsjr.com

Emily Bress (writer) – emilybress.com

Evan Easley (writer) – evaneasley.com

Grace Martin (art director) – gracemar10.com

Hannah Heller – (copywriter) – thecurlyh.com

Jane Stephens (art director) – janespelledjane.com/janestephens

Jared Fernandes (writer) – FernandesWithAnS.com

Jared Owenby (writer) – jaredonb.com

Jessica Kesner (art director) – jessicakesner.com

Katie D’Agostine (writer) – schmadvertising.com

Kelsey Heard (art director) – kelseyheard.com

Keri Speer (art director) – kerispeercreative.com

Kory Brocious (art director) – korybrocious.com

Lacie Johnson (art director) – lacieraejohnson.com

Makeda Loney (copywriter) – makedaloney.com

Mary Gilmore (art director) – marygilmoread.com

Nick Rog (art director) – nickrog.com

Reagan Fromm (art director) – reaganmfromm.com

Regina Strong (writer) –  regina-strong.com

Sam Johnson (art director) – samjohnsondotcomwastaken.com

Sammi Chancey (writer) – sammichancey.com

Tyler Emmons (art director) – tyleremmons.com

September 8th, 2016

Kayla Ducklo

barneysprintboy

Kayla is a junior art director at mcgarrybowen in Chicago (graduated from Chicago Portfolio School in 2015). One of MC’s favorite things is being able to look at a portfolio soon after someone lands at their first shop—and see what it really takes to get a job at an agency like mcgarrybowen. Very cool.

Portfolio: kayladucklo.com

This work is licensed under GPL - 2009 | Powered by Wordpress using the theme aav1