A community of working portfolios.
May 22nd, 2017

John Kastanes

maxwell

John is a freelance copywriter/ACD in Chicago. Since his last post on MC almost six years ago (05.30.11), he’s got a new Squarespace site with projects for a crazy variety of brands, including Maxwell House (above), Dannon, Miller Lite, AbbVie Foundation, and Polyseamseal. Way past time for an update.

Portfolio: johnkastanes.com

May 4th, 2017

Sr Copywriter & Sr AD Wanted: The Escape Pod, Chicago

escapepod

Heather Hayden, Director of Talent for The Escape Pod, is on the hunt for a senior copywriter and senior art director (individuals or as a team). From Heather: “The Escape Pod CHICAGO is looking to hire a Senior art director and Senior copywriter (either as a team or we will pair up separately) to join us.

Specifically, we are looking for creative talent who:

  • Have “the ability to think their way out of a proverbial bag”
  • Have a proven track record of presenting & selling conceptual campaign idea work (not just executions)
  • Are self-sufficient, independent yet collaborative
  • Have managed one or more broadcast shoots and been ultimately responsible for its final production delivery
  • Have some creative mentorship experience

If interested or for more info, please contact Heather: heather@theescapepodagency.com

April 5th, 2017

Chicago Portfolio School Week – Copywriter Grads

cps2

Nothing MC loves more than posting the portfolio sites of brilliant new copywriters. Ladies and gents, below are links to 9 Chicago Portfolio School Winter 2017 graduating writers (in alphabetical order):

Abby Festenstein (copywriter) – abbyfestenstein.com

Blythe Green (copywriter) – blythegreen.com

Danielle Janota (copywriter) – daniellejanota.com

Greg Garrod (copywriter) – greggarrod.com

Hope Lee (copywriter) – hopeleecopywriter.com

Jack Farrell (copywriter) – jtfarrellcopywriter.com

Jillian Spivak (copywriter) – jillianspivak.com

Kylie George (copywriter) – kyliegeorge.com

Peter Rizzi (copywriter) – peterrizzi.com

April 4th, 2017

Chicago Portfolio School Week – Art Director Grads

cps1

Winter 2017 Chicago Portfolio School Week on MC continues, today with the portfolio sites of six March art director grads. Get ’em while they’re hot!

Alexandra Courtney (art director) – alexandracourtney.com

Allie Schiesser (art director) – allieschiesser.com

Deirdre Nieto (art director) – deirdrenieto.com

Ellen Kingbury (art director) – lnkingsbury.com

Maximilien Delvigne (art director) – maximiliendelvigne.com

Renato Oliveria (art director) – renatololiveira.com

April 3rd, 2017

Chicago Portfolio School Week – Designer Grads

cps5

Ladies and gentlemen, this week MC is honored to present the portfolio sites of Winter 2017 Chicago Portfolio School grads: designers (Monday), art directors (Tuesday), and copywriters (Wednesday). Congrats to all!

Adeline Chong (designer) – addieadeline.squarespace.com

Max Linenberger (designer) – mlinenberger.com

Zachary Kaplan (designer) – zkaplan.com

February 24th, 2017

Ben Santoriello

Smith

Since his last post on MC a little over two years ago (01.26.15), Ben has gone freelance and added a bunch of new work to his site—including “Amanda Cerny 19th Century Striptease” for Smith & Forge Hard Cider (above). Nice. Ben also does VO work, including national TV campaigns for Old Dominion, McDonald’s, and 24 Hour Fitness. Time for an update!

Portfolio: bensantoriello.com

January 17th, 2017

Sr & Jr CWs Wanted: Two by Four, Chicago

2x4

Laura Allen, HR/Operations Supervisor at Two by Four in Chicago, is on the hunt for a Senior Copywriter and a Junior Copywriter (also open to a junior team). From Laura:

SENIOR COPYWRITER

Are you overflowing with brilliance? So much so, that you feel compelled to share your genius with others? Then maybe you’re just what we’re looking for. Two by Four is in the market for a Great Idea Generator: Senior Copywriter. One who not only routinely generates unbelievably great ideas, but can show others how to hone that skill as well. Someone who’s one helluva writer—and one helluva leader. If you translate strategy to concept in surprising ways, move smoothly and suavely in account/creative/client circles, live to nurture up-and-coming newbies, and feel most comfortable working at light speed, boy—do we have the job for you.

Key Responsibilities:

  • Develop fantastic creative concepts, seen through to execution
  • Come at things from refreshingly unique angles. Don’t just show us the expected stuff: surprise us, excite us, wow us, and make us happy we hired you
  • Do create work that makes our clients, the agency and your parents proud
  • Don’t be a prima donna. If you are, trust us: you won’t last very long here
  • Oversee and guide one (or more) creative teams on any given project
  • Present work to and develop relationships with clients
  • Keep track of your hours and do your time sheets on time: yes, this matters
  • Oh, and one other thing: we start at 8:30 (Yes, this matters, too—so set your alarm accordingly)
  • Dive headfirst into new business
  • Stand out, but fit in—this is one helluva fun place to work, with a really cool agency culture…be a part of it.

Qualifications/Skills Required for this Position:

  • 7+ years experience
  • A really nice body of work
  • Leadership and management chops—people are going to be looking up to you
  • An expert understanding of how things work in advertising, including radio and TV production, print, web development, etc.

For more info or to apply email Laura at: lallen@twoxfour.com

 

JUNIOR COPYWRITER

Is your brain a petri dish for great ideas? Do they bounce around in your head like pinballs on crack? If so, perhaps you’d like to see them come to fruition as a Great Idea Generator: Junior Copywriter at Two by Four. We’re in the market for a kick-ass writer—someone who not only gets it, but does it. An inventive, surprising, passionate thinker, someone who can take a strategy and conceptually turn it on its ear. A self-motivated, self-aware self-starter. Oh, and did we mention you’ll be doing this at breakneck speed? Buckle your seatbelt. If you think you’ve got what it takes, give us a shout. You may be the right writer for the job.

Key Responsibilities:

  • Develop fantastic creative concepts, seen through to execution
  • Come at things from refreshingly unique angles; don’t just show us the expected stuff: surprise us, excite us, wow us, and make us happy we hired you
  • Do create work that makes our clients, the agency and your parents proud
  • Don’t be a prima donna; if you are, trust us—you won’t last very long here
  • Raise your hand when you’re not busy. Volunteer. Engage. Immerse yourself. Help out wherever you can. Make yourself indispensable. We’ll notice, you’ll benefit.
  • Keep track of your hours and do your time sheets on time; yes, this matters
  • Oh, and other thing: we start at 8:30; yes, this matters, too—set your alarm accordingly
  • Roll up your sleeves, put on your thinking cap and dive headfirst into new business we’ve won a ton of new biz this year alone. Want an opportunity to grow? This is it.
  • Stand out, but fit in. This is one helluva fun place to work, with a really cool agency culture. Be a part of it.

Qualifications/Skills Required for this Position:

  • A killer student portfolio.
  • Being a grown-up. We don’t want to have to watch over you all the time, and you don’t want that either. If you can’t work without supervision, this won’t work.

For more info or to apply email Laura at: lallen@twoxfour.com

January 6th, 2017

Candice Schlax

talkspace

Candice is a new art director in Chicago after recently graduating from Chicago Portfolio School. Don’t miss her projects for the Talkspace app (above, online access to therapists) and Kotex “Congrats, you’re not pregnant!” greeting cards. Such a funny idea. How are those not a thing yet?

Portfolio: candiceschlax.com

November 16th, 2016

Chicago Portfolio School Week – Copywriter Grads

cps2

Nothing MC loves more than posting the portfolio sites of brilliant new copywriters. Ladies and gents, below are links to 11 Chicago Portfolio School Fall 2016 graduating writers (in alphabetical order):

Sarah Bass (copywriter) – sarahrbass.com

Olivia Crandall (copywriter) – oliviacrandall.com

Kaitlynn Frank (copywriter) – kaitlynnfrank.com

Chris Glascock (copywriter) – glascockforcopywriter.com

Cole Hintz (copywriter) – medium.com/cole-hintz

Scott Mendlinger (copywriter) – scottmendlinger.com

Kevin Murray (copywriter) – kevinmurraydotcomwastaken.com

Brett Rimkus (copywriter) – brettrimkus.com

Shawn Rudolph (copywriter) – shawnrudolphcreative.com

Nika Sagalchik (copywriter) – nikachik.com

James Scharfe (copywriter) – jimscharfecreative.com

Angela Williams (copywriter) – angeladwilliams.com

November 15th, 2016

Chicago Portfolio School Week – Art Director Grads

cps1

Fall 2016 Chicago Portfolio School Week on MC continues, today with the portfolio sites of seven September art director grads. Get ’em while they’re hot!

Allie Hunt (art director) – alliehuntad.com

Chris Kilmer-Lipinski (art director) – chriskilmerlipinski.com

Danny O’Donnell (art director) – danny-odonnell.com

Madeline Reusch (art director) – maddiereusch.com

Candice Schlax (art director) – candiceschlax.com

Jake Starr (art director) – jake-starr.com

James Stolbom (art director) – jamesstolbom.com

November 14th, 2016

Chicago Portfolio School Week – Designer Grads

cps5

Ladies and gentlemen, this week MC is honored to present the portfolio sites of September 2016 Chicago Portfolio School grads: designers (Monday), art directors (Tuesday), and copywriters (Wednesday). Congrats to all!

Elise McIntyre (designer) – elisemcintyre.com

Jen Mulvihill (designer) – jenmulvihill.com

Raina Shannon (designer) – rainashannon.com

Vicki Wrobel (designer) – vickiwrobel.com

November 9th, 2016

Mike Beamer

slch

Mike is a copywriter/CD at JWT in Chicago. So much great video on his site, including Illinois “Mancations” with Bill Kurtis, Illinois Made, and St. Louis Children’s Hospital (above) which might have had MC in tears once or twice. Or three times. Very nice.

Portfolio: mike-beamer.squarespace.com

October 18th, 2016

Calli Hoyt

negativespacemoba

Calli graduated from Chicago Portfolio School earlier in the year and is now a junior copywriter at mcgarrybowen in Chicago. Her portfolio is still mostly fun spec projects (so cool to see what gets a CPS grad into a shop like mcgarrybowen), and the first celebrates Waffle House servers as saints. Probably more than Waffle House would go for in the real world—but they should totally do the candles for employee of the month. Also on Calli’s site is a campaign for MOBA (above), the Museum Of Bad Art, which MC never knew existed. Hello, road trip.

Portfolio: callihoyt.com

September 8th, 2016

Kayla Ducklo

barneysprintboy

Kayla is a junior art director at mcgarrybowen in Chicago (graduated from Chicago Portfolio School in 2015). One of MC’s favorite things is being able to look at a portfolio soon after someone lands at their first shop—and see what it really takes to get a job at an agency like mcgarrybowen. Very cool.

Portfolio: kayladucklo.com

September 6th, 2016

Rob Gregory

bball

Rob is an art director (JWT, Leo Burnett, Creative Circus) turned photographer who now shoots full time. You can see the AD influence in his photography—including his projects Childhood Cancer Superheroes, 2016 Wheelchair Softball World Series, and RIC Hornets Wheelchair Basketball (above). Very cool.

Portfolio: robgregoryphotography.com

August 18th, 2016

Jesse Alkire

beer

Jesse is a copywriter/designer/comedian/troublemaker in Chicago. Crazy mix of projects on his site, from Teddy Goalsevelt to Drink It Interns (above). Love his Press page—makes MC wonder why more of us don’t have one. Dig it.

Portfolio: jessealkire.com

August 8th, 2016

Copywriter Intern Wanted: Grip, Chicago

GripCropped

Got mad copywriting skills? Looking for a killer internship? Grip in Chicago is on the hunt. From Grip: “We’re seeking a copywriting intern with mad literary game to join our team in September 2016. You should have the ability to develop content with strategic intent and have a strong creative point of view supported by a degree in creative writing or journalism. The mission of our internship program is to transition recent grads into the professional world of copywriting within the creative industry.

You’ll collaborate with experienced and inspiring team members on a broad range of projects to build confidence in your strengths, challenge your skills, and obtain a strong understanding of what it takes to roll with the big dogs. Internship is full-time, 3 months, and paid.

Apply now.”

To apply, click here: gripdesign.com/careers

August 1st, 2016

Jose Benitez

kim

Jose is a senior copywriter Dieste in Chicago. Since his last post on MC (back on 12.04.14), he’s added a bunch of new projects to his site including Adoptable Trends, which turns shelter dogs into trending topics by naming them things like “Kim Kardashian’s Butt.” So smart. So cute! (The dog, not the butt.)

Portfolio: letsseeifthisnameistaken.com

May 10th, 2016

Tommy Crossen

umbrella

Tommy is a junior copywriter at Marc USA in Chicago. His site currently has three agency projects and the rest is student work, which MC loves to see. (What kind of work did Tommy do as a student? How does that translate to his first agency gig?) Tommy is a graduate of Brainco’s online program, and might just be the first agency copywriter who attended a completely online portfolio school. Interesting!

Portfolio: cargocollective.com/tommycrossen

May 2nd, 2016

Matt Everts

Joe

Matt is a copywriter/Associate “Big Kahuna” at FCB in Chicago. Going through his site, MC laughed out loud about a thousand times. So much hilarity. That includes the site itself, which is a menu for Gaylord Fine Indian Cuisine. Don’t miss his Joe Boxer Holiday spots (if you haven’t seen them already). Genius.

Portfolio: gaylordfineindiancuisine.com

This work is licensed under GPL - 2009 | Powered by Wordpress using the theme aav1