A community of working portfolios.
February 15th, 2017

David Roth

outsidelands

David is a freelance copywriter/ACD/stand-up comedian in San Francisco. Since his last post on MC (11.06.13), David has focused on comedy and comedy projects—and his site totally reflects that. Which is both awesome and once again proves MC’s theory that drummers, surfers and comedians make great copywriters. Killer projects up and down his site, but don’t miss his first link, Stand-Up Comedy. So funny.

Portfolio: seriousboyfriend.com

February 6th, 2017

Reagan Ward

hammer

Reagan is a senior copywriter/ACD in New York. So many killer projects on her site. Peyton Manning for DIRECTV, “Never Again” for PIXMA, Nexcare Nana vs. Car Wash, and the one and only MC Hammer for Command Hooks (above). Dig it!

Portfolio: cargocollective.com/reaganwrites

October 26th, 2016

Mike Breighner

motodojo

Mike is a copywriter at VML in NYC where he helped create the above Moto Dojo campaign highlighting Motorola’s Moto Action. There are times when every copywriter gets lost in the grind of penning 500 tags for some new product that doesn’t really need a tag and questions, “Why? Is this really a job? Is what I do worthy of my short time on this planet?” Then comes along a project like Mike’s Moto Dojo and it all goes out the window. Of course this isn’t a real job. Look at what we do. And yet, somehow, they pay us. Shhh.

Portfolio: mikebreighner.com

February 5th, 2016

Shea Tullos

beer

Shea is a copywriter at Cactus in Denver. MC was laughing all the way through his portfolio, from the testimonials on the home page, to his Extracurriculars projects (would really like to hear some of those Hot Tubbin’ voicemails), to his References focus group. So funny.

Portfolio: sheatullos.com

November 28th, 2015

Jeff Richey

kansasCARGO_o

Jeff is a senior copywriter at Sanders\Wingo in Austin. (His site was submitted to MC by Alan McCoy, big ups!) Lots of cool projects in his portfolio for brands like Republic Tequila (above), AT&T (featuring Paul George), and Run For The Water—a charity run in Austin that gives one person in Burundi, Africa clean drinking water for life for each entry. Good times.

Portfolio: cargocollective.com/seejeffwrite

September 28th, 2015

Derek Bishop

shiner

Derek is a copywriter at McGarrah Jessee in Austin. All kinds of great work on his site (Indexhibit), including tons of quirky awesomeness for Shiner beer, plus YETI, Guitar Center, and Merrick dog food. Don’t miss “Jump” for Merrick. Could watch that all day.

Portfolio: ilikederek.com

May 29th, 2015

U of Texas at Austin Week 2015 – CW Grads

texas-longhorn2

Ladies and gentlemen, MC is honored to present the portfolio sites of 13 2015 University of Texas at Austin graduating copywriters (in alphabetical order):

Mary Adams Bode – maryadamsbode.com

Warner Boin – warnerboin.com

Hayden Butler – haydenroybutler.com

Allison Burzlaff – allisonburzlaff.com

Jason Cahill – jxlc.co

Rachel Dawer – racheldawer.com

Colleen Hoofard – colleenhoofard.com

Lauren Lakin – laurenlakin.com

Cynthia Osborn – cargocollective.com/osborncynthia

Kait Pennybacker – kaitpennybacker.com

Lacey Rouse – laceyrouse.com

Hannah Sanderson – hannahsanderson.com

Lulu Wimberly – luluwimberly.com

May 28th, 2015

U of Texas at Austin Week 2015 – Hannah Sanderson

shred

Lots of smart work in Hannah’s portfolio, including projects for Swingline Paper Shredders (above), Dramamine Kids, Lumen, Fix-A-Flat, and Merry Maids. Who hasn’t needed an anonymous Merry Maids postcard for a friend with an especially disgusting bathroom? The world needs this campaign.

Portfolio: hannahsanderson.com

May 27th, 2015

U of Texas at Austin Week 2015 – Hayden Butler

RoachObits

Campaigns for pest control aren’t uncommon in student portfolios, but to MC’s knowledge Hayden’s for Combat is the first to feature a full newspaper obituary page of roaches. So fun to write, geez. He’s also got cool projects for Monoprice, Jambox, Happy Socks, and Black Rock Charters. Good stuff.

Portfolio: haydenroybutler.com

May 26th, 2015

U of Texas at Austin Week 2015 – Lulu Wimberly

texashat2

So much funniness in Lulu’s portfolio. Don’t miss her guinea pig campaign for Paul Mitchell The School (nice Photoshop work), Winnebago (so retro), and Lucchese (so Texas). And hats off to the spinning toilet landing page. Genius.

Portfolio: luluwimberly.com

May 25th, 2015

U of Texas at Austin Week 2014 – Rachel Dawer

viking3

Texas at Austin Week on MC kicks off with Rachel Dawer, who was kind enough to coordinate with MC and help make this week happen. (No surprise she made Dean’s List!) Don’t miss her campaign for SportClips (above), which is the most perfect campaign for SportsClips ever. Dig it.

Portfolio: racheldawer.com

May 19th, 2015

Rick Abbott

mms

Rick is a freelance writer/CD in Miami. Since his last post on MC five years ago (03.19.10, how has it been that long?), he’s been very, very busy. M&M’s, Coke, Jet Blue, AT&T, Macy’s, Smirnoff, Acura, etc., for agencies like Crispin, RPA, Sapient, JWT, and BBDO. This is a good one.

Portfolio: rickabb.com

May 11th, 2015

Ben Wyeth

gortons

Ben is a recent Ph.D grad in Advertising from the University of Texas at Austin, and will be starting at The Richards Group in June. (Big congrats!) MC could be wrong, but is this the first Doctor of Advertising on the site? More importantly, what does he do if someone yells “Is there a doctor in the house?” Um. Technically, yes. But unless you’re metaphorically choking on a 15-second Hulu pre-roll video … which happens ALL THE TIME … then um …

Portfolio: benwyeth.com

May 23rd, 2014

U of Texas at Austin Week 2014 – CW Grads

texas-longhorn

Ladies and gentlemen, MC is honored to present the portfolio sites of the 2014 University of Texas at Austin graduating copywriters (in alphabetical order):

Joy Barnett – joybar.prosite.com

David Bassine – davidbassine.com

Amanda CoTan – amandacotan.wix.com/amandacotan

Nick Delisi – iseedelisi.com

Erik Donham – erikdonham.com

Janell Hendricks –  cargocollective.com/janell

Megan Leinfelder – cargocollective.com/mleinfelder

Stuart Lovinggood – stuartlovinggood.com

Chris Nordahl – cnordahl2.wix.com/chrisnordahl

Ananta Prayitno – anantapra.com

Cécile Robertshaw – cargocollective.com/cecilerobertshaw

Sarah Turner – cargocollective.com/sarahturner

Ben Wyeth – benwyeth.com

May 22nd, 2014

U of Texas at Austin Week 2014 – Nick Delisi

pic1

Nick is a graduating UT copywriter/photographer. He’s got a super clean portfolio that includes Aquafreshman: a campaign for Aquafresh targeting incoming college freshmen. Probably the most perfect student campaign idea ever. Definitely the freshest.

Portfolio: iseedelisi.com

May 21st, 2014

U of Texas at Austin Week 2014 – Ananta Prayitno

fossil

What happens when a self-described “Indonesian oil brat imported to Texas” goes through the Texas Creative program? Idaho Tourism, Waffle House, and Fossil Watches, of course. Love the crazy mix of clients in Ananta’s portfolio. (True for whole Texas graduating CW class, actually.) Dig it.

Portfolio: anantapra.com

May 20th, 2014

U of Texas at Austin Week 2014 – Sarah Turner

WaffleHouse_Print2

Sarah has her Bachelor’s in English: Creative Writing from The University of North Texas and now has a Masters in Advertising from the University of Texas. (Big ups!) From her About page: “I craft blogs, movie reviews, news articles, ad copy, short stories, and scribbles of absolute nothings on slips of paper I leave scattered across my apartment. I enjoy Hemingway, Hitchcock, and a band called Beirut. I believe in the Oxford Comma. And the occasional sentence fragment.” High-five on the Oxford Comma. And the sentence fragment.

Portfolio: cargocollective.com/sarahturner

May 19th, 2014

U of Texas at Austin Week 2014 – David Bassine

lenox

David graduated last week as a copywriter from the University of Texas at Austin, how’s about that? Big congrats, and a big thanks for helping MC put together U of Texas Week on MC. Don’t miss his Vegas social app, Interfriention. MC can think of so many uses.

Portfolio: davidbassine.com

February 26th, 2014

Brandon Willingham

doll

Brandon is a senior copywriter at Arnold Boston. He went to U of Texas plus VCU, then onto McKinney, Crispin and now, Arnold. (Nice.) Lots of killer work on his site for brands like Coke Zero, Domino’s Pizza, Carnival Cruise Lines, and Under Armor. Good stuff.

Portfolio: cargocollective.com/bwillingham

February 24th, 2014

UPDATE: Aaron Vick

mac

Aaron is a copywriter at Translation in Chicago. Been about a year since his last post on MC (03.25.13), back when his book was part produced, mostly student work. Since then, he’s added a bunch of new stuff including a crazzeee social campaign for Big Mac. BTDubs: when MC looks in the mirror, he is always hungry for Big Mac.

Portfolio: menwillbeboys.me

This work is licensed under GPL - 2009 | Powered by Wordpress using the theme aav1