A community of working portfolios.
October 20th, 2016

Sara Iravani


Sara is a copywriter in San Francisco. She’s got a cool mix of projects in her portfolio, including lots of editorial, fashion and beauty. MC got the chance to meet Sara a few months back and she’s good peeps. If you’re looking to meet a writer in SF with fashion/beauty experience, definitely give her a shout.

Portfolio: sarairavani.com

October 19th, 2016

Drew Harkins


Drew is a senior copywriter at 160over90 in Gainesville, Florida, previously at BRIGHT RED\TBWA in Tallahassee, and before that Mirium in Minneapolis—where he got to work on the super cute Dream Champion campaign for American Family Insurance (above). Derek Jeter, JJ Watt and Kevin Durant, geez.

Portfolio: drewharkins.com

October 18th, 2016

Calli Hoyt


Calli graduated from Chicago Portfolio School earlier in the year and is now a junior copywriter at mcgarrybowen in Chicago. Her portfolio is still mostly fun spec projects (so cool to see what gets a CPS grad into a shop like mcgarrybowen), and the first celebrates Waffle House servers as saints. Probably more than Waffle House would go for in the real world—but they should totally do the candles for employee of the month. Also on Calli’s site is a campaign for MOBA (above), the Museum Of Bad Art, which MC never knew existed. Hello, road trip.

Portfolio: callihoyt.com

October 17th, 2016

Leonardo Barbosa


Leonardo is a copywriter in São Paulo, Brazil. (For MC’s English speakers, click on the “English” button at the top of Leonardo’s site before you scroll down his portfolio.) His first project “Rescue Drive” is a genius idea for Chevrolet Cobalt. From Leonardo: “Most Brazilians aren’t used to changing their car unless they really need to. So, we found the perfect moment to present the new Chevrolet Cobalt.” When their car breaks down. Also, don’t miss his videos for Bradesco bank (above), so much drama! You can’t do that better.

Portfolio: barbosa.rocks

October 12th, 2016

Ried Cartwright


Ried is a copywriter/creative director at Curiosity in Cincinnati. One of MC’s favorite things is getting to see the portfolio sites of writers and CDs from shops like Curiosity that do regional work creatives in other parts of the country don’t always get to see. Like Nick and Vanessa Lachey for Cincinnati Bell (above). Saw it here first!

Portfolio: rcartwright7.wixsite.com/mysite

October 10th, 2016

Copywriter Wanted: Publicis Hawkeye, Dallas


Mike Todd, Director of Human Resources at Publicis Hawkeye in Dallas, is on the hunt for a copywriter. From Publicis Hawkeye: “If you are someone who is up for an adventure and believes they have a bit of a ‘Quixote windmill toppling’ mindset, we might be the right place for you.

The Position

The Copywriter is a strategic thinker who can brainstorm ideas, develop concepts, and produce thoughtful, irresistible messaging for print and digital deliverables. The Copywriter works closely with an Art Director on integrated accounts and reports to the Creative Director.


  • Writes effective, engaging, strategy-driven copy for a variety of direct response media.
  • Develops creative concepts in collaboration with art directors.
  • Adopts creative concepts to a wide variety of formats and media.
  • Presents creative strategy, rationales and comps to clients or prospective clients and leads their review of creative materials.
  • Develops professional knowledge in all aspects of direct response/advertising including offers, formats, graphics and design, consumer behavior, media, production, etc.

Skills & Experience

  • This position requires a college degree and at least 3+ years of experience in development of marketing campaigns, producing copy and concepts in an advertising profession, or a relevant combination of education and experience.
  • A master of good copy and headlines, but has a sense of art direction.
  • Good verbal and written communication skills, including the ability to convey ideas and information clearly, concisely and persuasively.
  • Direct and promotional marketing, mass advertising, B2B and interactive experience.
  • Excellent presentation skills.
  • Ability to think strategically.
  • Excellent negotiating and problem-solving skills.
  • Outstanding people management skills and positive attitude”

Send your link, rez and/or portfolio to Mike at: mike.todd@publicishawkeye.com

October 5th, 2016

Allison Bhatta


Allison is a senior art director at Barkley in Kansas City, MO. (Her site was submitted by Will Benham, senior copywriter, big ups!) Allison’s Gift of Giving video for JCPenny (above) proves once and for all that giving is at least as good as getting. Nice. Also, don’t miss her Handmade and Invitations & Design pages. The girl likes to make stuff. Dig it.

Portfolio: allisonbhatta.com

October 3rd, 2016

Creative Circus Fall 2016 Designer Grads


On Saturday 9/24, MC posted September 2016 graduating Circus writers and art directors. Today, we’ve got the designers (shout out to Kristin Martin, Director of Creative Services at Circus). Congrats to all of the recent grads!

Lina Bahri – linabahri.com

Brandi Dewberry – brandidewberry.com

Rachel Burt – rachel-burt.com

Kate Lewkowicz – katelewkowicz.com

Olivia McWhirter – oliviamdesign.com

Stephanie Morgan – stephaniehelenmorgan.com

Andy Myrick – philip-myrick.squarespace.com

Caitlin Parent – caitlinparent.com

Amberlynn Pope – hiamberlynn.com

Robyn Steadham – rlsteadham.com

Manya Swick – manyaswick.com

Allyson Tachiki – allysontachiki.com

Mary Claire White – mcforshort.com

September 30th, 2016

Copywriters Wanted: McCann Detroit


Danielle McGuckin and Ann Perry at McCann Detroit are on the hunt for unicorns. Copywriter unicorns! From McCann: “McCann Worldgroup Detroit is looking for copywriters to work on world-class accounts such as Chevrolet, Michigan Tourism, ALDI and more. We need writers. Excellent ones. Writers who put together a headline that makes other writers jealous. Writers who write copy novelists want to plagiarize. And if you’re only doing it for print or TV then don’t bother submitting your portfolio over here – we need people who can work in every channel. So, yeah, great writers. Every channel. And you have to be cool to work with. In other words, we might be looking for a unicorn.”

Are you that unicorn? Then apply to careers@mwgdetroit.com

September 29th, 2016

Dominique Curtis


Dominique is a copywriter at Sanders\Wingo in Austin, Texas. Every once in a while, you see a scene in a spot in a fellow copywriter’s portfolio and think to yourself, “He/she wrote that so that he/she could be on-set for that scene.” The above for Dominique’s AT&T spot featuring Jenifer Lewis qualifies. Dig it.

Portfolio: dominiquecreates.com

September 28th, 2016

Tom Gorton


Tom is a Creative Strategist/Director/Designer in San Francisco. He might have just set a new record on MC with over 50 projects featured on his site for clients like Leinenkugel’s, McDonalds, Kellogg’s, Optima Batteries, Kalahari, and Henry Weinhard’s. So much good stuff.

Portfolio: tomgorton.me

September 26th, 2016

Matt Elhardt


Matt is a freelance writer/CD based in Malibu, California. Holy smokes has he worked everywhere good: Apple, Wieden+Kennedy, Fallon, 180la, Leagas Delaney, Goodby Silverstein & Partners, Media Arts Lab and Crispin Porter + Bogusky. At those shops, he’s done killer work for Apple, Nike, Netflix, Subaru, adidas, HP, Coke and CNET—including the classic spot above. So awkward. So genius. One of MC’s all-time faves.

Portfolio: mattelhardt.com

September 24th, 2016

Creative Circus Fall 2016 CW & AD Grads


Ladies and gentlemen, MC is honored to present the portfolio sites of September 2016 Creative Circus graduates (in alphabetical order). NOTE: If you’re a Circus grad and would like to be added to this post, just shoot an email with your link to jason@moderncopywriter.com.

Adil Hussain (writer) – adilwritescopy.com

Amy Lazo (writer) – amylazo.com

Andrew Wernette (writer) – AWtheCW.com

Anh Nguyen (writer) – anhsbrightideas.com

Anna Crane (writer) – annacrane.co

Ashlyn Bell (writer) – ashlynmariebell.com

Audrey Saunders (art director) – audreysaunders.com

Chris Davis (writer) – christophdav.com

Corey O’Brien (writer) – itscoreyo.com

Courtney Hoenicke (writer) – illtakeanumberten.com

Dwight Williams (art director) – dwightwilliamsjr.com

Emily Bress (writer) – emilybress.com

Evan Easley (writer) – evaneasley.com

Grace Martin (art director) – gracemar10.com

Hannah Heller – (copywriter) – thecurlyh.com

Jane Stephens (art director) – janespelledjane.com/janestephens

Jared Fernandes (writer) – FernandesWithAnS.com

Jared Owenby (writer) – jaredonb.com

Jessica Kesner (art director) – jessicakesner.com

Katie D’Agostine (writer) – schmadvertising.com

Kelsey Heard (art director) – kelseyheard.com

Keri Speer (art director) – kerispeercreative.com

Kory Brocious (art director) – korybrocious.com

Lacie Johnson (art director) – lacieraejohnson.com

Makeda Loney (copywriter) – makedaloney.com

Mary Gilmore (art director) – marygilmoread.com

Nick Rog (art director) – nickrog.com

Reagan Fromm (art director) – reaganmfromm.com

Sam Johnson (art director) – samjohnsondotcomwastaken.com

Sammi Chancey (writer) – sammichancey.com

Tyler Emmons (art director) – tyleremmons.com

September 22nd, 2016

Andrei Chahine


Andrei is a copywriter/VP, Brand Creative Director at MTV in NYC, which sounds like the coolest job ever. Since his last post on MC back on 03.02.12, Andrei moved to New York, worked at Anomaly and Grey, and now leads MTV’s in-house creative department. He’s also added all kinds of new work to his portfolio, including MTV VMA campaigns (for which he’s won a bunch of Cannes Lions). Time for an update!

Portfolio: andreichahine.com

September 20th, 2016

Newton Cox


Newton is a copywriter at Deutsch in Los Angeles. Before ads, he was a TV writer—including a stint with Jimmy Kimmel. Don’t miss his “Re-Voiced” calls (on his Jimmy Kimmel page). So funny.

Portfolio: cargocollective.com/newtcox

September 19th, 2016

Ryan Durr


Ryan is a freelance copywriter/ACD in Richmond, VA (and ready to travel). Since his last post on MC, way back on 05.07.12, he moved from Pereira & O’Dell to Innocean to Martin to freelance—and added a bunch of killer work to his portfolio along the way. Like selling lemonade with Ice-T for Geico (above). Definitely time for an update.

Portfolio: durrtywords.com

September 17th, 2016

Chicago Portfolio School CW Grads Weekend


Bonus CPS weekend post! Last May, Chicago Portfolio School graduated six new copywriters (big ups to Kristen Manias for sending them in). Excited to have them up on MC now.

Kristen Manias – kristenmanias.com

Kurt Monette – kurtmonette.com

Isaac Glover – isaacglover.com

Rae Faiman – raefaiman.com

Jessi Pelzel – jessipelzel.com

Mitch Reeter – mitchreeter.com

September 15th, 2016

Miami Ad School CW Grads Week: Fall 2016


Ladies and gentlemen, MC is honored to present the portfolio sites of 13 Miami Ad School copywriter graduates (in alphabetical order):

Alejandra Cid – alejandracid.net

Chanae Reed – chanaereed.com

Charlotte Bent – charlottebent.com

Chris Lou – chrislou.co

Greg Ward – gregwardcreative.com

Jared Powell – jaredthomaspowell.com

Kim Truong – kimtruong.work

Michael Fleming – michaelfleming.work

Rachel Landau – rachelroselandau.com

Stephanie Huber – stephanie-huber.squarespace.com

Tanvi Tandon – tanvitandon.com

Tino Gonzalez-Kakouris – tinogk.com

Wael Khairy – waelkhairy.com

September 14th, 2016

Miami Ad School CW Grads Week: Wael Khairy


Wael is a copywriter/filmmaker who graduated from Miami Ad School last week—though he does have quite a bit of CW and film experience pre-MAS. You can see that experience represented in his portfolio, especially in case studies he’s put together for his projects. Throughout this graduating MAS class, it’s very cool to see how students are putting their personal experience, skills and interests into how they present their work. Dig it.

Portfolio: waelkhairy.com

September 13th, 2016

Miami Ad School CW Grads Week: Tanvi Tandon


Tanvi is a new copywriter (or bust) in NYC after graduating from MAS last week. During her internship at 360i in NYC, she helped put together the above project to pitch Bose for the Super Bowl: “We turned tweets with #LetsHearIt into all possible genres of music, which you can view on this Tumblr page.” 360i even pitched it to Bose on Tanvi’s birthday. Now that’s a good internship!

Portfolio: tanvitandon.com

This work is licensed under GPL - 2009 | Powered by Wordpress using the theme aav1