A community of working portfolios.
September 26th, 2016

Matt Elhardt

cnet

Matt is a freelance writer/CD based in Malibu, California. Holy smokes has he worked everywhere good: Apple, Wieden+Kennedy, Fallon, 180la, Leagas Delaney, Goodby Silverstein & Partners, Media Arts Lab and Crispin Porter + Bogusky. At those shops, he’s done killer work for Apple, Nike, Netflix, Subaru, adidas, HP, Coke and CNET—including the classic spot above. So awkward. So genius. One of MC’s all-time faves.

Portfolio: mattelhardt.com

September 24th, 2016

Creative Circus Grads Saturday

2010-Circus-Logo-

Ladies and gentlemen, MC is honored to present the portfolio sites of September 2016 Creative Circus graduates (in alphabetical order). NOTE: If you’re a Circus grad and would like to be added to this post, just shoot an email with your link to jason@moderncopywriter.com.

Adil Hussain (writer) – adilwritescopy.com

Amy Lazo (writer) – amylazo.com

Anh Nguyen (writer) – anhsbrightideas.com

Audrey Saunders (art director) – audreysaunders.com

Evan Easley (writer) – evaneasley.com

Jane Stephens (art director) – janespelledjane.com/janestephens

Kelsey Heard (art director) – kelseyheard.com

Sam Johnson (art director) – samjohnsondotcomwastaken.com

September 22nd, 2016

Andrei Chahine

miley-sprinkles_wildposting_melrose_stanley-final

Andrei is a copywriter/VP, Brand Creative Director at MTV in NYC, which sounds like the coolest job ever. Since his last post on MC back on 03.02.12, Andrei moved to New York, worked at Anomaly and Grey, and now leads MTV’s in-house creative department. He’s also added all kinds of new work to his portfolio, including MTV VMA campaigns (for which he’s won a bunch of Cannes Lions). Time for an update!

Portfolio: andreichahine.com

September 20th, 2016

Newton Cox

vwbeth

Newton is a copywriter at Deutsch in Los Angeles. Before ads, he was a TV writer—including a stint with Jimmy Kimmel. Don’t miss his “Re-Voiced” calls (on his Jimmy Kimmel page). So funny.

Portfolio: cargocollective.com/newtcox

September 19th, 2016

Ryan Durr

icet

Ryan is a freelance copywriter/ACD in Richmond, VA (and ready to travel). Since his last post on MC, way back on 05.07.12, he moved from Pereira & O’Dell to Innocean to Martin to freelance—and added a bunch of killer work to his portfolio along the way. Like selling lemonade with Ice-T for Geico (above). Definitely time for an update.

Portfolio: durrtywords.com

September 17th, 2016

Chicago Portfolio School CW Grads Weekend

cps-1

Bonus CPS weekend post! Last May, Chicago Portfolio School graduated six new copywriters (big ups to Kristen Manias for sending them in). Excited to have them up on MC now.

Kristen Manias – kristenmanias.com

Kurt Monette – kurtmonette.com

Isaac Glover – isaacglover.com

Rae Faiman – raefaiman.com

Jessi Pelzel – jessipelzel.com

Mitch Reeter – mitchreeter.com

September 15th, 2016

Miami Ad School CW Grads Week: Fall 2016

gallery

Ladies and gentlemen, MC is honored to present the portfolio sites of 13 Miami Ad School copywriter graduates (in alphabetical order):

Alejandra Cid – alejandracid.net

Chanae Reed – chanaereed.com

Charlotte Bent – charlottebent.com

Chris Lou – chrislou.co

Greg Ward – gregwardcreative.com

Jared Powell – jaredthomaspowell.com

Kim Truong – kimtruong.work

Michael Fleming – michaelfleming.work

Rachel Landau – rachelroselandau.com

Stephanie Huber – stephanie-huber.squarespace.com

Tanvi Tandon – tanvitandon.com

Tino Gonzalez-Kakouris – tinogk.com

Wael Khairy – waelkhairy.com

September 14th, 2016

Miami Ad School CW Grads Week: Wael Khairy

pepsi

Wael is a copywriter/filmmaker who graduated from Miami Ad School last week—though he does have quite a bit of CW and film experience pre-MAS. You can see that experience represented in his portfolio, especially in case studies he’s put together for his projects. Throughout this graduating MAS class, it’s very cool to see how students are putting their personal experience, skills and interests into how they present their work. Dig it.

Portfolio: waelkhairy.com

September 13th, 2016

Miami Ad School CW Grads Week: Tanvi Tandon

hashtag

Tanvi is a new copywriter (or bust) in NYC after graduating from MAS last week. During her internship at 360i in NYC, she helped put together the above project to pitch Bose for the Super Bowl: “We turned tweets with #LetsHearIt into all possible genres of music, which you can view on this Tumblr page.” 360i even pitched it to Bose on Tanvi’s birthday. Now that’s a good internship!

Portfolio: tanvitandon.com

September 12th, 2016

Miami Ad School CW Grads Week: Charlotte Bent

tylenol

Charlotte is a new copywriter in NYC after graduating from MAS last Friday. (Big ups!) So much to like on her site, from her projects for Tylenol (above), Gilt, Champion, and Lego, to her About Charlotte Bent music video mash-up. She’s also included a bit of stand-up (on page LOL), proving once again MC’s theory that copywriters are really just comedians who don’t want to be broke. Dig it.

Portfolio: charlottebent.com

September 8th, 2016

Kayla Ducklo

barneysprintboy

Kayla is a junior art director at mcgarrybowen in Chicago (graduated from Chicago Portfolio School in 2015). One of MC’s favorite things is being able to look at a portfolio soon after someone lands at their first shop—and see what it really takes to get a job at an agency like mcgarrybowen. Very cool.

Portfolio: kayladucklo.com

September 7th, 2016

Josh Weiss

jump

Josh is an art director at Saatchi in Los Angeles. Tons of projects for Toyota on his site, including a series of influencer videos for 4Runner. Don’t miss “The Last Jump” by Chris McNamara (above), which shows what can happen when base jumping doesn’t go as planned. (Gulp.) Cool use of YouTube’s annotation feature for this project.

Portfolio: joshdweiss.com

September 6th, 2016

Rob Gregory

bball

Rob is an art director (JWT, Leo Burnett, Creative Circus) turned photographer who now shoots full time. You can see the AD influence in his photography—including his projects Childhood Cancer Superheroes, 2016 Wheelchair Softball World Series, and RIC Hornets Wheelchair Basketball (above). Very cool.

Portfolio: robgregoryphotography.com

September 5th, 2016

Aisha Hakim

25915

Aisha is an art director at Venables Bell & Partners in San Francisco. She’s got a great mix of projects for Reebok on her site, including 25,915 Days (the average number most of us live), above. Also, don’t miss her Mercury Awards-winning radio for VOCALiD. Love that the first art director on MC this week has won a Mercury. Dig it.

Portfolio: aishamadeit.com

August 31st, 2016

Welcome, Art Directors, Designers & Teams

MC-Logo

Since 2009, Modern Copywriter has featured hundreds of awesome copywriter portfolio sites. Over the years, one of the most common questions MC has been asked is, “When are you going to start modernartdirector.com?” Well, it’s time. Except, we’re going to do it a little different than that.

ModernCopywriter.com is now open to copywriters, art directors, designers, teams, and other creatives with amazing portfolio sites—but it’s still going to be Modern Copywriter (rather than a collection of sites). Few reasons for that. First, having a single site will generate the most traffic for your posts and when it comes down to it that’s what ya’ll are here for—traffic to your portfolio sites. Two, I’m a copywriter and it’d be silly for me to write posts from any other perspective. Three, maintaining one site is so much easier than two, three, or four. Finally, trademark, legal and URL issues blah blah blah.

NOTE: If you just want to see copywriters, click on “Copywriters” in the sidebar on the right and everyone else magically disappears.

There you have it. As always, thanks to everyone in the MC community. Here’s to the next six years!

Send portfolio links to: jason@moderncopywriter.com

August 29th, 2016

David Rakowiecki

david

David is a freelance copywriter/filmmaker in Austin, Texas. In addition to projects for MetLife, Amstel Light, Verizon, and Heineken on his site, you can view the trailer for his first feature film, Spoiler Alert. Love to see a copywriter who’s pursuing big screen dreams at the same time. Big ups!

Portfolio: davespots.carbonmade.com

August 24th, 2016

Andrew Payton

pop

Andrew is a copywriter/GCD at Story in NYC. Since his last post on MC (way back on 09.21.11), he’s got a new site, new gig, and a whole bunch of new work for clients like Verizon, Audible, Vevo, Google, Chapstick, and Mentos. Don’t miss his beautiful campaign for Popsicle (above) celebrating summer. Is it really almost over? How’d that happen so fast?

Portfolio: apayton.com

August 22nd, 2016

Writer Wanted: SquareTrade, San Francisco

Rockhold_Roundhouse_1_lo

SquareTrade in San Francisco is on the hunt for a mid-level or senior writer to join our awesome internal creative team. What does it mean to be a writer at SquareTrade, the best electronics warranty company in the world? You’ll write, of course. But you’ll also be an idea factory, working with a team of crazy talented designers on a mission to make SquareTrade as amazing as it can be.

For example, in the photo above, Luke Rockhold (champion UFC fighter) is kicking the you-know-what out of an iPhone in a SquareTrade Labs Breakability video. You’ll be thinking up stuff like that—in addition to writing projects for almost every major retailer in the US, mobile carriers across the EU, social, radio, environmental, you-name-it. It’s a little bit agency. It’s a little bit in-house. It’s a whole lot of fun.

Unfortunately, we’re currently looking for local candidates only. 

Interested? Email your link to Jason (SquareTrade CD) at: jason@squaretrade.com

August 18th, 2016

Jesse Alkire

beer

Jesse is a copywriter/designer/comedian/troublemaker in Chicago. Crazy mix of projects on his site, from Teddy Goalsevelt to Drink It Interns (above). Love his Press page—makes MC wonder why more of us don’t have one. Dig it.

Portfolio: jessealkire.com

August 15th, 2016

Andrew Kim

lego

Andrew is a new copywriter in NYC, just finishing up an internship at Wieden+Kennedy. All kinds of cool, inventive ideas in his portfolio including projects for Lego (above) and DJI Drones, soap that helps conserve water, a homemade cardboard Merit pencil for the One Show (nice), and 95 Feet—a reminder not to drive tired.

Portfolio: yeahforsure.com

This work is licensed under GPL - 2009 | Powered by Wordpress using the theme aav1